top of page

How To || Fab Flirty Lashes That Look Like Falsies

Even though I am a makeup artist, I don't usually wear makeup unless I've got a client, a meeting, or a dance (I do bellydance, which requires really dramatic makeup!). On a regular day, I mostly wear a dusting of my custom mineral foundation powder, slightly defined brows and really heavy mascara.

Over the years, I've found that I get most compliments on my lashes, which is why I choose to focus on them rather than eyeshadow. My natural lashes are anout average for someone with my coloring: They're medium length, straight, and black.

A problem that I have to overcome is the fact that I have heavily hooded eyes. This means that my lids are fleshy and cover my natural crease. This is also why I tend to skip eyeliner and just apply a heavy dose of mascara. Sicne a lot of people ask me, I've decided to share one foolproof way of faking falsies :)

After countless clients (and many, many trials and errors on myself!), I've come up with several ways of applying mascara. For this technique, I would recommend a brand that is waterproof, smudgeproof and quick-drying. This technique will not go wellw ith wetter mascaras.

1) Curl your lashes! 2) Take out the mascara wand from the tube. If you are using a volumizing formula, I suggest scraping the wand along the mascara tube's rim to remove excess formula. All the goop will just add clumpiness! 3) Lightly brush the wand upwards on the outer lashes, applying only on the ENDS (not the roots) of the lashes. You can do this twice -- three times might make it look too messy and clumpy.

4) Apply your mascara normally. A technique I use for every kind of formula is to gently wiggle the wand against the lash roots and then twisting the wand upwards while moving up along the length of the lashes. This allows the formula to be applied evenly. Two to three coats are sufficient for the "falsies" look. One to two coats are good for a cleaner version.

5) Reload your mascara wand and this time, wiggle it only along the roots. Focus on the roots of the outer lashes. This builds volume only on the root area, making your lashes look fuller without them looking like spidery legs!

6) If you get clumps, lightly brush them out with a lash comb -- try not to overdo this step, as dried mascara looks messy when disturbed too much.

And there you have it! Lashes that look fab, flirty and full! :) Here's a close up:

A reminder though! Always remove your makeup at the end of the day. The best option for mascara is to find a dedicated eye-and-lip makeup remover, or a waterproof makeup remover. In a pinch, light baby oil also helps. Soak a cotton ball with chosen cleanser and press gently (do not rub) on the lash lines while your eyes are firmly closed. After 30 seconds, any yucky black goop you have on there will easily wipe and wash away.

Any other techniques you know or use? Feel free to share them in the comments section! Bye for now! I-ann

X


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page